Hallo aka A Very Random Entry
Thursday March 6th, 2003 / 5:48 p.m.

Somehow I got reinfected with the flu. I guess that's the way these things work. I have the works, and I won't grace you with the details, but suffice it to say. . .all those symptoms listed on the Nyquil and Dayquil bottles? Done, and done!

I've created a little 'sick' fort on my desk. I've got the Theraflu (and I just have to turn around and pop it into the microwave, right there) a box of Puffs tissues, a giant jug of juice, a carton of "Soy Dream" (no real milk, too many histamines), Halls cough drops, and my laptop.

I've been busy on my laptop, speaking of. My "little" pet project is up to 75 pages. Unfortunately it's written out of sequence and I'm stalled with writer's block at around page 40, so I haven't really been able to show much for it. Oh well, when I do get through this inexplicably tough part it should be smooth sailing for awhile. It's kind of overwhelming though, because even when I do finish this one section it should come to around 95 or 100 pages, and that's not even all of the outline written up, and the outline isn't even a third done. How many pages are we talking here?! 300?! More?!?! How did this project get so huge! It has taken on a life of its own, I tell you. I never thought it would get so. . .epic? For those of you who have no idea what I'm talking about, ignore the preceding paragraph. You're probably trying to already, lol. For those of you who do know what I mean. . .take it with you to the grave!

I kid. . .

I still have not heard from my schools yet, but that's not very surprising. Juilliard and AADA don't have to inform me until April 1st, and I haven't even sent my full applications to my other schools, or performed my audition for another NYC conservatory. My fate for next year isn't quite "completely in the hands of the universe," as my senior year Comparative Religion / Human Sexuality teacher Mrs. Lorentz used to say of our college admissions. Awww, Mrs. Lorentz, what a sweetheart.

I have been really obsessed with the most random songs recently. A song will take ahold of me and consume me, practically eating my brain. At first it was the theme song to my senior prom. Each time it would come on I would get glassy-eyed and sit in my chair, swaying softly to it. It was the kind of reaction some people have when they hear Enya's song Only Time or the Righteous Brothers' Unchained Melody. Okay, "some people" is me also, alright! I like some of that easy listening music, so sue me. The next one was a bit of score from the soundtrack to the movie The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers. It's the very end of track 16, if you have that CD which I'm positive you don't, but in any case it's beautiful. It's powerful and moving. Some people in charge of the trailers would agree with me. One of the trailers has this part of the song playing loudly throughout the ad.

The latest one is called Sono Andati? and it is from Puccini's opera La Boh�me. It's gorgeous and the soprano part perfectly meshes with my voice. I think I'm driving my neighbors crazy by playing it over and over again, but I try to do it only when I think everyone's out.

I have very eclectic taste in music, if you hadn't noticed! Lol.

I started massive spring cleaning type projects so the room is pretty messy, and then right before I could put everything away, shiny and clean, I seriously pulled the muscle behind my right knee. So now on top of being sick I am a bit crippled, temporarily. Woe unto me.

Katie and I looked at some pro-anorexia sites tonight, to see what exactly the psychology was behind them. It was interesting, in a sad way. I leaned that these girls have a lot of pride in who they are. They identify it as a lifestyle ("deathstyle" say I), and they think they are the "few and the strong," because they can starve themselves and show "control," and most people can't. They collect pictures of disturbingly gaunt models and call them triggers. They look at them when they are hungry to remind them of how they want to look. I'm not such a fan of my own body but I would much rather look the way I do that the way they do. It's so frightening to see.

Uh-oh, I should be going to choir rehearsal right now. Too bad everytime I speak I start to sound like I have consumption. It really is too bad though, since rehearsal is one of my favorite things to do.

Wow I could really go for a sammich right now. . .

OK well I've degraded into just free-thought typing, so I'm going to go now.

Tata

-

My Latest Effort - Monday, August 11, 2003
Missstik - Sunday June 29th, 2003
*Melt* - Friday June 27th, 2003
These Are The Days, They Really Are. - Wednesday June 25th, 2003
It's HERE! It's Finally Here!!! - Saturday June 21st, 2003

Click here for a random entry!

* Current
* Archives
* Photos
* Rings
* Profile
* Design
* E-mail
* Guestbook
* Notes
* Links
* Readers
* DiaryLand