POWER HOUR!
Sunday June 15th, 2003 / 11:56 p.m.

Yesterday my mom and I were supposed to meet up with Katie and Susan to go up to the North Beach Fair, but Katie was sick. Ahh, so disappointing! Still, my mom and I decided to go on our own, and it was delectable! I love it in the early afternoon, when everyones still passably sober, and it's not wretchedly crowded. It is my favorite type of San Francisco�more specifically�North Beach�day. There was really no sign of recession. Everyone was out in the bright sunshine, wearing their summer best, and going in and out of the many booth lining Grant, Green, and Greenwich streets. This year was the year of jewelry. Jewelry everywhere! My mom was obsessed with this one place, and we tried to go later but by then you couldn't even move in the crowd. That's the point you know it's time to retire into the park and listen to the live bands while eating the delicious (though ourtageously over-priced) booth food. So that's what we did, and Alex came over to join us. It was her birthday yesterday.

HAPPY TWENTIETH BIRTHDAY ALEXANDRA!

But unfortunately she was crabby and annoyed because she was having a terrible birthday and the crowds were really bugging her. We didn't stick around for long: she had to go meet her parents for a birthday dinner at Stinking Rose. My mom and I just chilled in the park, hanging out with the sweetie of a dog, Moochie, next to us (and talking to her really cool owners too), sipping on our frozen lemonade, and listening to the jazz. It was so nice! Even if I got suburned.

Then last night I met Colleen, Katie (back from SU, YAAAAY), Aileen, Mike, Keiko, and Scott, for my second viewing of Bend It Like Beckham. Love that movie! So did everyone else too, especially Scott who apparently enjoyed the jokes even more, what with his insider knowlegde of the sport! And uh-oh, Ashling, watch out! You have new competition with some of my friends over Jonathan Rhys-Myers!!

Afterwards we piled into the 2 cars and met up at the Steps of Rome. I miraculously found a parking spot right around the corner!!! So miraculous. We got stamps on our hands when we came in that were kissing lips which we pressed into each other's cheeks. Instant lip prints, voil�! Eek it was loud in there, AND we were under the speaker. But I had the best gelato ever, so it was okay, at least for me. Some wanted PIZZA though, so we wandered through the total chaos and debris of North Beach (post-1st-day-of-fair type stuff) and past the eery empty white tents to North Beach Pizza. And we actually agreed on the pizza! This proves something about us as a group of friends, I think. I'm not sure what though. . .It was fun. Much chatting and giggles. I love summer when everyone is home!

I also realize though, that nothing will probably be the same after this. This is most likely the last summer that all of us will be home. Who know where any of us will be a year from now? Plus I leave fairly soon, in about a month and a half, I think (we don't have precise dates yet) so I really want to make the most of it. I think I am though! Days like this affirm it.

Speaking of. . .the matter of POWER HOUR has been brought up! I say, bring it on!!! Let's get on this, ehh? Need I remind you, it's been five months for me! That's too long, much too long!

Today my mom and I went back up to the North Beach Fair and it was much nicer because it was much less crowded. She bought up a whole collection of jewely from one booth she just loved. That takes care of birthdays and Christmas! Then she got me a gorgeous, gorgeous atique emeralg cut ruby ring, set in a sterling silver fleur de lis setting. She bought it as a parting gift, and it's from the same people she bought my diamant heart ring from a few years ago. They're really nice people. I also picked up some supplies for the dinner I made tonight for Father's Day, which was quite a success. I made grilled coarn on teh cob, raosted new potatoes with sea salt, and cajun dry-marinated spicy chicken breasts. It was good, if I do say so myself.

-

My Latest Effort - Monday, August 11, 2003
Missstik - Sunday June 29th, 2003
*Melt* - Friday June 27th, 2003
These Are The Days, They Really Are. - Wednesday June 25th, 2003
It's HERE! It's Finally Here!!! - Saturday June 21st, 2003

Click here for a random entry!

* Current
* Archives
* Photos
* Rings
* Profile
* Design
* E-mail
* Guestbook
* Notes
* Links
* Readers
* DiaryLand