These Are The Days, They Really Are.
Wednesday June 25th, 2003 / 6:12 p.m.

I bought my tickets to London at last. I am leaving July 25th. That's a month from today! Then I don't return until December 13th. Yowsa. Better make the most of the time left! I believe I have so far, though. . .

These past few days, ahhh. . .what heaven. Six of us squished into a 5 seat compact car. At least they're all small! After a few false starts (In and Out, once more) we finally got onto 101 N and drove up to Healdsburg, then through some absolutely spectacular winery and woodsy scenery. We took a while to wind our way through the dirt path, while everyone was joking about walking into a deliverance-like trap. But instead of some crazy mountain men we found ourselves at the summit of a hill overlooking surrounding wine country vallies, on which stood a gorgeous house. Mike and Keiko were already there, kindly cleaning out the pool in anticipation of our arrival! It's Keiko's family's, and she was nice enough to invite us all up!

We passed through the wood gate, passed a gorgeous turqouise pool, hottub, arbor and inviting hammock, bushes of fragrant lavender, and wooden deck which overlooked beautiful views. Inside was just as pretty: all wooden, spacious plan, and high ceilings. Splendorousss!

We whiled the afternoon away splashing about in the pool, having all-out-wars over the one pool chair, and floating on the surviving noodles (Coll and I split both pink ones. Why were the pink ones so fragile??)

That night we all went into Healdsburg and tried to play grown-up by picking out dinner (and on the way Mike's car spewed dust all over mine, and he did it on purpose! Grr). Instead we acted like a bunch of little kids, but in a funny way! We wanted everything we saw to go into the cart, and we added them in, too! In the ended up with potato chips, milk, ice cream, and ketchup, and then for the grill we had assorted bell peppers, zuchini, corn, quesadilla-makings, and regular and veggie hotdogs. I kept imagining what it would be like for the 8 of us (Aileen, Colleen, Katie, Keiko, me, Mike, Scott, and Stefanie) to live in a house togehter. We'd have fun I think, but we would also drive each other crazy, I have a feeling. But it was fun to pretend to be roommates for the evening. We did make a delicious meal (and kudos to Scott the cook of the night!). Jay called sometime during then and I climbed into the hammock and watched the incredibly vivid stars as we talked. I even saw some shooting ones, and though he was 75 miles away, it was still a romantic moment. Not that I missed him. . .my friends were tons o' fun! After the dinner we got back into the pool, but this time nekkid! All the lights were off, though, so all it was very very dark: nothing could be seen! Still, with 8 people in a smallish pool, you had to be careful not to make full body contact in accident, due to the dark. We managed pretty well, though! In the hottub after the pool Aileen and I felt spotlighted by the one little light. SPOTLIGHT! So we put our bathing suits back on and went inside to take a coed shower. Somehow Leen, Mike, Scott, and I all fit into the stall. Where there's a will, there's a way apparently! "Giant and delishish! Giant and delishish!" Then Scott made coffee ice cream milkshakes. Mmmm! Can I move there? We played Ten Fingers, and I actually had them up for a long long time! Wow! Me? Okay! I guess I didn't play that fair though: "I've never. . .hooked up with one of the cronies!" GOTCHA ALL!

We stayed up laaate into the night, until it was not only dawn but fully daytime.

Earlier in the evening, we were considering playing Hour of Power, since Katie had burned the ideal CD for it, but instead we spent most of the time playing a rousing game of Monopoly. "SNAKE EYESSS!" I was doing really really well but then people stopped landing on my pricey, fully-stocked spots. GAR! Then I landed on one of Mike's squares of death. Damnit, such is the luck of the dice. Oh well, I came back and redeemed myself by winning Clue early in the game. See, I knew I should be a detective! J/K . "Diet Pepshi!?!?!" Meanwhile, Katie was reading Harry Potter. . .and she was in the last several chapters! Once again she was gasping and making noises of disbelief and saying (reminiscent of the first day we got 'em), "CHLOE you would NOT BELIEVE the information I am reading right now!!!" Finally I was tempted into reading it, and we all retired. She finished, but I still have 8 chapters left. I can't wait to discuss it with her later! I am trying desperately to savor it and stretch it out, but somehow when you read it, time vanishes into nothingness and before you realize it you've read 15 chapters! This happened to both Katie and I. I zoomed ahead the second night I had it and went a while beyond both Coll and Katie, and could reverse the "I know what happens!" thing. But then Katie caiught up and surpassed me, to finish! On one hand I wish SO MUCH that I knew what happens, but on the other hand, I still amm so excited over the Harry Potter time ahead of me!

We finally all went to sleep at around 8 in the morning, then rose at 12 to drive back. (By the way, while loading the car back up. . .I've never seen so many lizards. Brianna�you'd have flipped! Some of them were even doing their lizard pushups, hehe.) Awww, I wish we could have stayed longer but people had places to be, people to see. Maybe next time? Hopefully there will be a next time. We behaved ourselves, right?

Once again, a HUGE thanks to Keiko for letting us come! It was truly wonderful :-)

-

My Latest Effort - Monday, August 11, 2003
Missstik - Sunday June 29th, 2003
*Melt* - Friday June 27th, 2003
These Are The Days, They Really Are. - Wednesday June 25th, 2003
It's HERE! It's Finally Here!!! - Saturday June 21st, 2003

Click here for a random entry!

* Current
* Archives
* Photos
* Rings
* Profile
* Design
* E-mail
* Guestbook
* Notes
* Links
* Readers
* DiaryLand